Best EMR for Cash-Based Physical Therapy (Jane vs WebPT and More)
For most small cash-based PT clinics, Jane is the best EMR: public pricing from $59 a month, online booking and superbills on every plan, and packages and memberships on its $99 Thrive plan. WebPT, Prompt and SPRY suit insurance-heavy or larger clinics and quote prices only on request.
Most EMR comparisons are written for clinics that bill insurance, so they rank on claims, denials and clearinghouses. A cash-based clinic cares about different things: selling a $5,000 package, billing a membership every month, letting patients book online at 10pm, handing over a superbill, and charging a card on file without chasing anyone. We compared six EMRs on exactly those, using each vendor's own pricing and feature pages, checked on October 23, 2026. Where a vendor hides its pricing or does not mention a feature, we say so rather than guess. The right pick depends on two things: how many practitioners you have, and whether any insurance billing is left in your clinic.
What is the best EMR for a cash-based physical therapy clinic?
For most small cash-based PT clinics, Jane is the best EMR, because its pricing is public, online booking and superbills come on every plan, and packages and memberships are included on its Thrive plan at $99 a month (Jane pricing). Practice Better is the budget pick and suits clinics that sell programs and recurring payments. PtEverywhere is a PT-specific option with public pricing and listed package and membership features. WebPT, Prompt and SPRY are built for clinics with insurance billing at their core and quote prices on request; they make more sense for hybrid or multi-location practices. The table below summarizes what each vendor's own pages said on the day we checked. "Not stated" means the vendor page did not mention it, not that the feature is missing.
| EMR | Published price (Oct 23, 2026) | Packages | Memberships | Online booking | Superbills | Card on file | Insurance billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jane | $59, $79, $99/mo | Thrive plan | Thrive plan | All plans | All plans | Listed in payments | Add-on, $20/mo + per license |
| WebPT | Not published, demo required | Not stated | Not stated | Engage module, all plans | Starter plan | Not stated; online payments on Enhanced and up | Enhanced and Ultimate |
| Practice Better | $0 to $155/mo | Listed | Recurring payments (not on free or Starter) | Public booking page | Listed | Not stated | Claim.MD integration listed |
| PtEverywhere | $49, $149, $199/mo + seats | Listed | Listed | Listed | Not stated | Not stated | RCM add-on, $39/therapist/mo |
| SPRY | Not published, demo required | Not stated | Not stated | Essentials plan | Not stated | Billing service | Core feature |
| Prompt | No pricing on site, demo required | Not stated | Not stated | AI online scheduling | Not stated | Online bill pay listed | Core feature |
What should a cash-based clinic look for in an EMR?
A cash-based clinic should look for six things in an EMR: packages, memberships with automatic recurring billing, online booking, superbills, card on file, and a price that does not include insurance features you will not use. Packages and memberships are how cash clinics sell plans of care, so they have to track remaining visits and bill without a person touching it. Online booking matters because self-referred patients book outside office hours. A superbill is the itemized receipt a cash patient sends to their own insurer to request out-of-network reimbursement, and your EMR should produce one in a click. Card on file lets you charge no-show fees and recurring plans. Everything else, like documentation templates and home exercise programs, most modern EMRs do well enough. See our superbill definition for what one must include.
| Must-have for cash | Why it matters | Red flag |
|---|---|---|
| Packages | Sell plans of care up front | Tracking remaining visits in a spreadsheet |
| Memberships | Recurring revenue after the plan ends | Manual monthly charges |
| Online booking | Self-referred patients book at night | "Call us to schedule" only |
| Superbills | Patients claim out-of-network benefits | Front desk building them in Word |
| Card on file | No-show fees, recurring billing | Re-entering cards each visit |
| Transparent price | Know your cost before the demo | Insurance features bundled in |
Is Jane a good EMR for cash-based physical therapy?
Jane is a strong EMR for cash-based physical therapy, especially for clinics with one to ten practitioners. Its Balance plan is $59 a month for one practitioner capped at 20 appointments a month, Practice is $79 a month with unlimited appointments for one full-time practitioner, and Thrive is $99 a month and adds packages and memberships, return visit reminders, ratings and reviews, and advanced scheduling (Jane pricing). Online booking, superbills and CMS 1500s, intake forms and free data import come with every plan. Jane describes memberships as plans that "bill automatically on a schedule you choose," and says packages and memberships are only available on Thrive (Jane). Jane Payments lists 2.85% plus $0.25 online and 2.6% plus $0.10 in person. Insurance billing is an add-on, which is the right structure for a cash clinic.
Is WebPT a good EMR for cash-based physical therapy?
WebPT can work for cash-based physical therapy, and its Starter plan is aimed at start-ups and smaller practices focused on cash-pay services, but it is built first for clinics that bill insurance. WebPT does not publish prices; its pricing page says cost depends on plan and customization and can be per provider per month or per visit, and it asks you to book a demo (WebPT pricing). Starter includes digital intake, appointment reminders, home exercise programs, a patient portal and superbills, but not online payments; integrated and online payments start on the Enhanced plan, which also adds insurance billing. Online scheduling is in the Engage module on all plans. The pricing page does not mention packages or memberships. For a hybrid clinic still billing insurance, WebPT's depth is a real advantage.
Jane vs WebPT: which is better for a cash practice?
For a small, fully cash practice, Jane is the better fit; for a larger or hybrid practice that still bills insurance heavily, WebPT is worth the demo. The deciding factors are price transparency, cash features and insurance depth. Jane publishes every plan price and puts packages and memberships on a $99 plan. WebPT requires a demo for any price, does not mention packages or memberships on its pricing page, and puts online payments on its insurance-billing tier. On the other side, WebPT's Enhanced and Ultimate plans include insurance features a hybrid clinic needs, like electronic benefits verification, batch billing, claims scrubbing, Medicare institutional billing and multi-clinic reporting. If you are halfway through moving to a hybrid model, that matters.
| Jane vs WebPT (vendor pages, Oct 23, 2026) | Jane | WebPT |
|---|---|---|
| Published pricing | Yes: $59, $79, $99/mo | No: demo required |
| Plan aimed at cash pay | All plans; insurance is an add-on | Starter plan |
| Packages and memberships | Yes, Thrive plan | Not stated on pricing page |
| Online booking | All plans | Engage module, all plans |
| Superbills | All plans | Starter and up |
| Online payments | Jane Payments | Enhanced and Ultimate |
| Insurance billing | Add-on, $20/mo + per license | Enhanced and Ultimate |
| Best for | Small cash and cash-leaning clinics | Insurance-heavy, hybrid, multi-location |
Is Practice Better good for a cash-based PT clinic?
Practice Better is a good budget EMR for a cash-based clinic that sells programs and recurring plans, especially a solo practitioner. It has a free Sprout plan for 3 clients, Starter at $35 a month ($25 billed annually) for 10 clients, Professional at $69 a month for 300 clients, Plus at $99 a month with unlimited clients, and Team at $155 a month for two practitioners plus $50 per extra practitioner (Practice Better pricing). Its pricing page lists packages, a public booking page, superbills, and deposits and recurring payments, which are not available on the free or Starter plans. Payments run through Stripe, and the page does not state processing rates. Check that its documentation templates fit how you write PT notes before you commit.
Is PtEverywhere good for cash-based physical therapy?
PtEverywhere is a PT-specific EMR with public pricing that lists cash, packages and memberships among its payment features, which makes it worth a look for cash clinics. Plans are Starter at $49 a month (capped at 20 visits a month), Standard at $149 a month and Pro at $199 a month, with the first therapist included, additional therapists at $75 per seat for seats two to five, and free admin and front desk seats (PtEverywhere pricing). Online booking with automated reminders is listed. Insurance billing comes through an RCM add-on at $39 per therapist per month. The pricing page does not say which plans include packages and memberships, and does not mention superbills or card on file, so ask about all three on the demo.
Are Prompt and SPRY good for cash-based clinics?
Prompt and SPRY are capable platforms, but both are built around insurance billing and operations, so they fit hybrid and multi-location clinics better than small cash-only practices. Neither publishes plan prices. Prompt's site describes it as EMR and practice management for rehab therapy and chiropractic clinics, lists AI-powered online scheduling and online bill pay, and offers a demo rather than pricing; its pages we could open did not mention packages or memberships (Prompt). SPRY's pricing page lists Essentials and Plus plans priced by visit volume per provider, with online scheduling, a patient portal and patient invoicing in Essentials, and an optional billing service at 4% to 6% of collections that includes card on file (SPRY pricing). If you still bill insurance, both deserve a demo.
What about cash-based chiropractic practices?
Cash-based chiropractic practices can use most of the same EMRs, and Jane suits chiropractic offices that sell care plans because it handles packages, memberships and online booking on one plan. Chiropractic offices that sell care plans and wellness memberships should focus on recurring billing and care plan payment options. Cash Practice Systems is a chiropractic-focused tool for retention and cash collections rather than a full EMR: its site lists a care plan calculator, an auto-debit system for one-time and recurring card and ACH payments, and patient education emails, and says plans start "for as little as $59/mo" (Cash Practice Systems). A reviewer on its site mentions it integrating with ChiroTouch, so it often sits alongside an existing EMR. To set prices for the plans you will sell, use our package pricing calculator.
How much does an EMR cost for a cash-based clinic?
An EMR for a solo cash-based clinic costs roughly $25 to $199 a month at list price among vendors that publish pricing, before card processing and extra practitioners. The real cost depends on which plan includes the cash features you need: Jane's packages and memberships require the $99 Thrive plan, Practice Better's recurring payments require Professional or higher, and PtEverywhere's Starter caps you at 20 visits a month. Three of the six vendors we checked do not publish prices at all. Add a CRM such as GoHighLevel if you run ads or reactivation campaigns, since most EMRs are not built for lead follow-up.
| EMR | Lowest plan with cash essentials (our read) | List price per month | Extra practitioner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jane | Thrive (packages, memberships) | $99 | Not shown on page |
| Practice Better | Professional (recurring payments, 300 clients) | $69 ($59 to $62 annual) | Team plan, $50 each |
| PtEverywhere | Standard (unlimited visits) | $149 | $75/seat, seats 2 to 5 |
| WebPT | Starter or Enhanced | Not published | Not published |
| Prompt | Unknown | Not published | Not published |
| SPRY | Essentials | Not published | Not published |
How do you choose an EMR and switch without disrupting patients?
Choose by writing down your five must-haves, demoing two vendors with your real packages and memberships, and asking each to show a superbill and a recurring membership charge live. Then plan the switch for a slow week. Ask what the vendor imports for free (Jane lists free data import on every plan), export patients, upcoming appointments and package balances, run both systems for a short overlap, and change the booking link last, everywhere it lives: Google Business Profile, website, ads and text templates. Check every active patient's remaining visits by hand after the move. Do not change your EMR and your CRM in the same month; one change at a time is how you find what broke. Our software hub lays out the rest of the stack.
Questions owners ask
Is Jane or WebPT better for a cash-based PT clinic?
For a small cash-only clinic, Jane is usually the better fit because its prices are public and packages and memberships are built into its Thrive plan. WebPT has a Starter plan aimed at cash-pay practices, but it does not publish prices and is strongest for clinics that also bill insurance.
Does Jane do memberships?
Yes. Jane's Packages and Memberships feature lets you set recurring plans that bill automatically on a schedule, and Jane says it is only available on the Thrive plan, which listed at $99 a month on October 23, 2026.
What is the cheapest EMR for a cash physical therapy practice?
Among vendors that publish prices, Practice Better has a free plan for up to 3 clients and paid plans from $25 a month billed annually, PtEverywhere starts at $49 a month, and Jane starts at $59 a month for one practitioner capped at 20 appointments.
Do cash-based PT clinics need an EMR that bills insurance?
Not if you are fully out of network. You need superbills so patients can submit claims themselves. If you are hybrid or still see some insured patients, pick an EMR with an insurance billing add-on you can turn on later.
Can an EMR replace a CRM for marketing?
Partly. Some EMRs send reminders, review requests and recall emails, but most are not built to follow up on new leads within minutes or run multi-step campaigns. Many cash clinics pair an EMR with a CRM such as GoHighLevel.
Sources
- Jane: Pricing (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- Jane: Packages and Memberships (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- WebPT: Pricing (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- Practice Better: Pricing (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- PtEverywhere: Pricing (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- SPRY: Pricing (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- Prompt Health: Home page (checked Oct 23, 2026)
- Cash Practice Systems: Home page (checked Oct 23, 2026)